The Big Sleep

The kids took long naps this afternoon, and I read most of the time. I’m really enjoying this book. Sebastian is such a train wreck that I hate to watch him destroy himself like this . . . but at the same time I’m not too attached to him as a character. I’m more fascinated with the setting. My flap jacket says this book ” . . . mourns the passing of the aristocratic world Waugh knew in his youth . . . .” It’s obvious how much he reveres the old ways and dislikes the modern ways. You know, I’m somewhat like that myself. I am not fond of many of the “modern ways.” Not that I’m a former aristocrat or anything (ha ha), but I definitely relate to Missing How Things Used To Be. Do you two have any suggestions for more books about English aristocracy?

On page 95, Waugh discusses how things just aren’t as fun as they used to be at Oxford for the boys. He compares it to actors who enjoyed their performance and then says, ” . . .in the bleak light of day they must go back to their homes; to the husband who came to London too often, to the lover who lost at cards, and to the child who grew too fast.” That’s pretty good, I think. Just the thought of my children growing up (fast or not) puts me in a melancholy mood.

I’m going along at a good clip here and am about halfway through the book. I can’t wait to discuss it in person with you gals. We could eat strawberries at Chili’s or something.

About katherinethomsen

Hey friends! I'm the mother of a little boy, born April 2006. I'm a Midwest transplant living in Arizona. I taught high school English for four years before leaving teaching to stay home with my son. When I go back to work, I hope to become a librarian. What I love most is my family. Second most, reading.

Posted on August 14, 2009, in Brideshead. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Waugh definitely misses The Old Way. I do not. I have FREDDY AND FREDERICKA for you to read if you want–if you want to see more of my view of English aristocracy.

  2. FREDDY AND FREDERICKA was delightful–the satire got a little too Saturday Night Live-ish and I couldn’t take too much of it. But the whole story was excellent and I loved the writing.

    I’m with Eliana about the good ol’ days. The past definitely holds good qualities but we forget that they didn’t have things like grocery stores stocked with a million options. They didn’t have the option of just hopping on the plane to visit family members who live zillions of miles away. I feel very glad to live in the modern age–even with its challenges.

Leave a comment